5 Hillman Drive, Suite 200, Chadds Ford, PA. 19317-9998

484.259.1945 foundation@fmfcu.org


FMFCU Foundation honored those who make an extraordinary impact in our community on Thursday evening, April 21 during the 2022 FMFCU Foundation Celebration at the Drexelbrook.

Each year at this event, FMFCU Foundation awards more than $50,000 and 300 trophies, plaques, and certificates to deserving students, teachers, schools, and community advocates. After a two-year hiatus of an in-person event, almost 400 people, including business leaders and dignitaries, attended the 2022 FMFCU Foundation Celebration.







Among those honored were all 230 students who participated in Delco Hi-Q this season, including the 20-member All-Delco Hi-Q Team comprised of one student from each team.

Cash awards went to the three top-scoring teams of the nation’s oldest continuous academic quiz competition’s 74th season. Local and National Hi-Q Champions Haverford High School, second-place Garnet Valley, and third-place Marple Newtown received engraved plaques and $3,000, $2,500 and $2,000, respectively, for their school. Haverford High School also won the right to hold the Donna Zerby Trophy for a year.

Twenty outstanding teachers were honored with the 2022 Excellence in Teaching Award. FMFCU Foundation established the award in partnership with DCIU to recognize exceptional teachers for their dedication and positive impact on students. Each honoree received a $1,000 grant, a commemorative keepsake and $1,000 to benefit his or her school.

Five high school seniors were selected from nearly 300 applications to receive a $3,000 John D. Unangst Memorial Scholarship to be used toward college expenses.

For the first time, FMFCU Foundation recognized a non-profit that makes an extraordinary impact in the community. The Community Champion Award pays special tribute to a deserving nonprofit while providing resources to allow the organization to continue its great work. This year The Bernardine Center in Chester was honored and a $5,000 cash donation was made.

Pictured above: 2022 All-Delco Hi-Q Team; Sister Sandra Lyons of The Bernardine Center accepting the Community Champion Award; 2022 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients