5 Hillman Drive, Suite 200, Chadds Ford, PA. 19317-9998

484.259.1945 foundation@fmfcu.org

FMFCU Foundation Celebration Honors those who Make an Impact in our Community


Over 500 students, educators, parents and community members filled the Drexelbrook Event Center on April 25th as FMFCU Foundation held the 2024 FMFCU Foundation Celebration.


Katherine Scott of 6abc kicked off the evening by presenting the Community Champion Award to Purple House Project. The mission of Purple House Project is to strengthen, empower, and transition women impacted by intimate partner violence via connection to essential resources that aid in the healing process.


The night continued, turning the spotlight over to students and their faculty advisors who participated in the 76th season of Delco Hi-Q, the nation’s oldest continuous academic quiz competition and the All Delco Hi-Q team. The top three Hi-Q teams were awarded – third place, Radnor High School, second place, Garnet Valley High School and the Delco Hi-Q Champions, Delaware County Christian School. Chichester High School was recognized with the Tom McCarthy Most Improved Team award. All 21 Hi-Q Teams were also honored for their participation this season.


Longtime Hi-Q supporter, Dr. Harry Jamison, was officially inducted into the Delco Hi-Q Hall of Honor. The designation is bestowed upon past Hi-Q participants, educators and supporters who have made extraordinary contributions to Delco Hi-Q.


Six scholars were then presented with funds to continue their education. Five John D. Unagnst scholars received $3,000:

  • Abigail Dougherty, Avon Grove High School
  • Brady Clark, Ridley High School
  • Jesvin Jerry, Springfield High School
  • Katherine Smith, The Baldwin School
  • Sophia Ingersoll, Renaissance Academy Charter School


Khaleedah Ahmad of Chester STEM Academy was awarded the Inaugural Bridge to Success Scholarship for $3,000. FMFCU Foundation introduced the Bridge to Success Scholarship this year, tailored specifically for high school seniors in the Chester Upland School District.


Lastly, 20 teachers were awarded with the prestigious Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Adrienne Fiscus, Bethany Christian School
  • Alex Saddic, Furness High School, School District of Philadelphia
  • Amanda Simiriglio, Walnut Street Elementary, William Penn School District
  • Dina Schmidt, Church Farm School
  • Emily Gray, Manoa Elementary, Haverford Township School District
  • Emily Stewart, Upper Darby High School, Upper Darby School District
  • Hans Kalbach, Media Elementary, Rose Tree Media School District
  • James Donahue, Garrettford Elementary School, Upper Darby School District
  • Jamie Mozzone, Great Valley High School, Great Valley School District
  • Janice Toomey , NCCL School
  • Jennifer Vintigni, Padua Academy, Catholic Diocese Wilmington
  • John Conte, Interboro High School, Interboro School District
  • Kathy Pedano, St. Bernadette School, Archdiocese of Philadelphia
  • Katie McDermott, Sharon Hill School, Southeast Delco School District
  • Kelli Houpt, Pocopson Elementary, Unionville Chadds Ford School District
  • Kylee Holliday, AI du Pont High School, Red Clay Consolidated School District
  • Lauren Neuber, Bethel Springs Elementary, Garnet Valley School District
  • Lisa Cobb, Strath Haven Middle School, Wallingford Swarthmore School District
  • Sarah Wosczyna, Phoenixville Area Early Learning Center, Phoenixville Area School District


Each teacher was awarded a $1,000 grant as well as an additional $1,000 for their school, totaling in $40,000 donated by Franklin Mint Federal Credit Union.


The annual FMFCU Foundation Celebration is an opportunity to celebrate and honor those who make an extraordinary impact in the local community. Sponsors include Franklin Mint Federal Credit Union, The Wilbur C. and Betty Lea Henderson Foundation, CCRES, Kimberly Clark Chester Operations, Delaware County Intermediate Unit, and The Delaware County Daily Times. For more information about FMFCU Foundation’s programs and how to help make a difference, visit http://fmfcufoundation.org.